It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:52 pm


Question on Subterranean

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

SwordOfJustice

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2609
  • Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:40 am

Question on Subterranean

PostWed Apr 27, 2016 10:13 am

I've read the Subterranean rules for Resistance and it seems to me that I can declare any squad to be underground at game start, even if I bought a normal transport for it.

Is that right? I think it is because I can't find any rule that says otherwise.

Which means the transports would come on normally though the squad is underground.
We have evolved beyond mere flesh and bone. We are the Post Human Republic.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBC9LIUpKeo
Offline
User avatar

SwordOfJustice

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2609
  • Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostWed Apr 27, 2016 10:40 am

Actually, I just read the rules on Transports and it says there that if you buy a transport for a squad then it must start inside the transport. So that answers my question then: I can't make such squads use Subterranean.

What a shame! I wanted to try some cheeky infantry moves using a drill. :D
We have evolved beyond mere flesh and bone. We are the Post Human Republic.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBC9LIUpKeo
Offline

Yvain

  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:15 pm

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostThu Apr 28, 2016 1:57 am

Awww that is disappointing. I was planning on doing the same thing with a few units I bought.
Offline

Bazlord101

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:00 pm

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostSun Jun 12, 2016 12:25 am

Oh hell!!

We're playing our first Bunker Assault mission next week, and i was getting all excited about the idea of plonking drills next to the enemy bunkers and having squads of Veterans and Berserkers rush out! But obviously i can't do that?

So, when Infantry that must be bought with a transport of some kind - and that'd be most of them - have "Subterranean" on their profile, all that means is they can exit the board through a drill. But they must start the game above ground in their nominated transport. Hmmm... thanks for clarifying!
Offline
User avatar

snolb

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1331
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:19 pm
  • Location: Växjö, Sweden

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostSun Jun 12, 2016 5:12 am

You can have all infantry without a transport...

But the idea to have infantry coming out from a drill is a rather bad idea... First of it is a reserve roll, then it is just one squad from the drill, then the drill is counting as a board edge meaning that it needs to be 2" from the building you want to enter.
Official the worst player in Sweden!

Dedicated DzC Swedish Facebook group!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/702576909788030/
Offline

Bazlord101

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:00 pm

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostMon Jun 13, 2016 6:53 am

Ah - thanks Snolb. I see what you mean about it being a potentially disastrous idea. If the drill scatters the wrong way, that's a bunch of infantry with nowhere to go...

One squad at a time isn't a worry tho - we're playing an escalation league and we're only up to 1000pts, so i was thinking a 4-base squad of either Vets or Berserkers for the assault crew.
Offline

Ruarl

  • Posts: 170
  • Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:12 pm
  • Location: Manchester

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostMon Jul 18, 2016 12:08 pm

I don't have the book to hand. Aren't Jackson transports Subterranean?
Offline

Lorn

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2443
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: Question on Subterranean

PostMon Jul 18, 2016 1:25 pm

No they are not, unless you got Jessie Adams.

German space magic for PHR would you like to know more?
http://www.hawkforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7017

German space magic for all and this time it is in Space!
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=10506

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests