It is currently Sat May 26, 2018 10:07 am


OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Amitverse

  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:44 pm

OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 2:01 pm

Does a whole squad get the benefit of the Overseer if only 1 unit of the squad is in the 9" but the rest are all in coherency of each other, or is it just those units that are actually inside the range that get the benefit.
Offline
User avatar

Mega Mike

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 459
  • Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:15 am
  • Location: Chessington, England

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 2:43 pm

1 member of the squad must begin it's activation within 9" of the Overseer. The squad gains the benefit chosen
Team ORBITAL BOMBARDMENT
Winter Invasion Champion 2017

Blog: http://www.dzcblog.blogspot.com
Podcast: https://soundcloud.com/orbital-bombardment/
Twitter: @OBDZC
Offline
User avatar

snolb

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1331
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:19 pm
  • Location: Växjö, Sweden

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 3:12 pm

I have another question then... Must the whole squad choose the same benefit?
Lets say that one Hunter in a squad of six is within the 9" from the Overseer, can two of them choose to shoot at the longer range, two of them shoot twice and the last two shoot at normal..?

And can we please have a clarification from the Hawk team if the Warriors can shoot ten shoots and therefore can have 3 shoots with E11?
Official the worst player in Sweden!

Dedicated DzC Swedish Facebook group!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/702576909788030/
Offline
User avatar

time wizard

  • Posts: 744
  • Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:38 pm
  • Location: Long Island, New York

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 3:30 pm

snolb wrote:I have another question then... Must the whole squad choose the same benefit?
Lets say that one Hunter in a squad of six is within the 9" from the Overseer, can two of them choose to shoot at the longer range, two of them shoot twice and the last two shoot at normal..?


Don't know about this, haven't gotten my phase 2 book yet.

snolb wrote:And can we please have a clarification from the Hawk team if the Warriors can shoot ten shoots and therefore can have 3 shoots with E11?


In another thread http://www.hawkforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=8573&p=72703&hilit=overseer#p72703 Hawk Liam said "Regarding scourge warriors doubling their shots with the overseer. Yes you can do it. And yes this does mean you can get multiple Energy 10 hits from their special rule.

Potentially 3 if you roll well."

He went on to clarify, "Yes, Energy 10 as the rule does say for 1 energy less."
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel

"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake." - Napoleon Bonaparte
Offline
User avatar

Mega Mike

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 459
  • Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:15 am
  • Location: Chessington, England

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 3:37 pm

Whole squad choose the same benefit.

Although Hawk Liam has said one thing, Hawk Simon has said that Warriors double their shots, but 3 hits make an E11. The doubled shots just make it easier to achieve the E11 hit - especially against skimmers.
They cannot generate more than one of the E11 hits.

I think Hawk Simon needs to officially clarify though
Team ORBITAL BOMBARDMENT
Winter Invasion Champion 2017

Blog: http://www.dzcblog.blogspot.com
Podcast: https://soundcloud.com/orbital-bombardment/
Twitter: @OBDZC
Offline
User avatar

snolb

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1331
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:19 pm
  • Location: Växjö, Sweden

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 3:38 pm

Thanks, Wizard! I was looking in the rule section for that! :D
Official the worst player in Sweden!

Dedicated DzC Swedish Facebook group!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/702576909788030/
Offline
User avatar

Major Awesome

  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 3:27 pm
  • Location: Phoenix, Arizona

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 3:58 pm

How does the Overseer interact with a warrior base's Small Arms AA shot? (sorry, no book here yet either!)
~Major Awesome~
Hedgehog schemer, Resistance lover, and on those random full moons when PHR aren't everywhere my true nature as cyborg comes out.
Offline
User avatar

time wizard

  • Posts: 744
  • Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:38 pm
  • Location: Long Island, New York

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 4:42 pm

Major Awesome wrote:How does the Overseer interact with a warrior base's Small Arms AA shot? (sorry, no book here yet either!)


TBH, I don't really know yet. I saw this in a different post.

ReconquestOlympus wrote:Able to boost range of all plasma weapons within 9" or they can fire 2 shots at less energy.


And in yet another thread we have;
Hawk Liam wrote:The Small arms rule stats that all shots are replaced into a single shot for AA. Doesn't matter how many shots you have, whether its 10 or 50. You can never have more than 1 small arms shot from a base.


In that thread, Lorn asked if the range would be unaffected as well. You can jump into that discussion here http://www.hawkforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=8588&p=72700&hilit=overseer#p72700
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel

"Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake." - Napoleon Bonaparte
Offline
User avatar

snolb

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1331
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:19 pm
  • Location: Växjö, Sweden

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 4:55 pm

Mega Mike wrote:Whole squad choose the same benefit.

Although Hawk Liam has said one thing, Hawk Simon has said that Warriors double their shots, but 3 hits make an E11. The doubled shots just make it easier to achieve the E11 hit - especially against skimmers.
They cannot generate more than one of the E11 hits.

I think Hawk Simon needs to officially clarify though


Thanks Mike!

It would be good too know before Invasion... :P
Official the worst player in Sweden!

Dedicated DzC Swedish Facebook group!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/702576909788030/
Offline

Lorn

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2419
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: OVERSEER question ( because I don't have the book yet)

PostTue Aug 16, 2016 6:21 pm

While I like the Overseer I fear there is a lot of unclear rules and rule interactions surrounding it. In addition to stuff that works not as intended.

Regarding the range I would like to mention that the rule states that a weapon must be within range not a squad. Though confusingly one sentence later the rule talks about an affected squad.

I fear this needs quite a bit of official clarification before Invasion.
Last edited by Lorn on Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

German space magic for PHR would you like to know more?
http://www.hawkforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7017

German space magic for all and this time it is in Space!
viewtopic.php?f=36&t=10506
Next

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron