It is currently Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:51 am


DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 724
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 9:00 am

So how does this work?

Sniper ignore line of sight, right?

1. can they see units behind buildings?

2. if yes, i think only behind 1x building, so if a unit is further away at the other side of the table they cant see them!

3. again line of sight is always infinite or?

4. can sniper target infantry inside buildings which are not on the walls?
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Hawk Liam

  • Posts: 318
  • Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:09 am

Snipers do NOT ignore line of sight. They only ignore soft cover and body cover. They cannot see behind buildings or shoot through them. They also cannot target infantry in a building that are not at the walls. Only flame can target infantry bases not at the walls of a building.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 724
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:20 am

ok good to know than i misread something... but well i did not use them yet

so a Longreach Rifle can not shoot through his transport, for example?
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Hawk Liam

  • Posts: 318
  • Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:25 am

Sniper does nothing to say it ignores LOS. If you cannot see the target, you cannot shoot them.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 724
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 11:37 am

hm ok ok thx... need to reread it all tonight!
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 724
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 6:09 pm

Hawk Liam wrote:Sniper does nothing to say it ignores LOS. If you cannot see the target, you cannot shoot them.



well i reread it, my confusion came from the German rule book!

"Body Cover" is spelled as "Sichtschutz" which is like "Cover from Sight" or of sight.... well never mind!

ok but well, can a Transport like the "UCM Bear APC" count as Body cover? if then the sniper can shoot trough it right?
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

CheeseCake1128

  • Posts: 83
  • Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:44 am
  • Location: West Yorkshire

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 9:20 pm

To my knowledge any vehicle blocks line of sight for everything, whether it's in the same squad as the shooter or not and whether it's friendly or not. A Bear APC (being type : vehicle) would block line of sight to and from any infantry hiding behind it (unless they're Mortar teams, then they sneer at line of sight and shoot you anyway :P ).
- CheeseCake1128
Offline

Brunius

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 8:01 am

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 11:00 pm

The examples the rulebook gives for body cover is rubble or low walls; cover, but not great cover.
Offline
User avatar

Hawk Liam

  • Posts: 318
  • Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 10:09 am

Remember, that if you cannot target the centre of the enemy infantry's base, you cannot target them.

It is assumed they hide behind the intervening cover.
Offline

Lorn

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2235
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:48 pm

Re: DZC: FAC and Sniper Rule (PHR)

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 10:53 am

@Dread

The german rule book is rather clear on this if one has read each part of it. In translations some terms will always be a little odd but "Sichtschutz" https://www.dict.cc/?s=Sichtschutz is not LoS in German and a defined term in the rulebook compare to https://www.dict.cc/?s=soft+cover all the translations of the term "Soft cover" are non-military and would confuse people more. Rereading a rulebook if something seems odd is always a good idea and reading the definitions of rule terms even more so. ;)
Last edited by Lorn on Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

German space magic for PHR would you like to know more?
http://www.hawkforum.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7017
Next

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest