It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:42 am


Defence turrets take 2

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Dalzzor

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 9:58 am

Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 7:43 am

Hi all

I ask a question in a previous post reference military sectors and the defence turrets they contain I had 49 views no replies so I am thinking I did not explain myself very well so my question is , When can you fire a defence turret i.e is it when you activate the group that deployed the ground assets to the sector, can you fire it on the turn you deploy into the sector the following turn or something else. Hopefully this makes more sense and someone can help.

Cheers martyn.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 8:12 am

They fire at the start of Round up, before ground token combat look at Page 74!
Defence Weapons
This militarised sect or has w eapons powerful enough to
damage ships in orbit. At the beginning of the G round
Combat step, the holder of thi s Sector may fire the
following weapon against a ship in range with the fol low ing
profile. Range is measured fro m the centre of t he Cluster
and all Clusters count as havi ng a Scan of 6".
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Dalzzor

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 9:58 am

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 9:25 am

Hey Dread thank you for the response.

Its actually clearly written on page 74 my bad.

Cheers Martyn.
Offline
User avatar

Wenner69

  • Posts: 226
  • Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:02 am
  • Location: Novi michigan

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 1:11 pm

Actually, when looking at how you hold a sector it says that you hold a sector by having more tokens during a scoring turn. I think it is a mistake, but Raw actually only allows for you to fire it turn 4+.

I had an opponent at origins that pointed this out just after I used a scourge command card to place an orbital gun (the nasty kind) on a sector that I held with his troopship in sight....
Blessed by the white sphere
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 1:45 pm

Wenner69 wrote:Actually, when looking at how you hold a sector it says that you hold a sector by having more tokens during a scoring turn. I think it is a mistake, but Raw actually only allows for you to fire it turn 4+.

I had an opponent at origins that pointed this out just after I used a scourge command card to place an orbital gun (the nasty kind) on a sector that I held with his troopship in sight....


i disagree you hold a sector in every round as long as you have more troops, if you hold the sector in turn 4 you gain VP in addition
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Wenner69

  • Posts: 226
  • Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:02 am
  • Location: Novi michigan

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostTue Jun 20, 2017 4:15 pm

I agree that is probably the intent and how I would like to play it but it is not how it is worded in the book. My opponent in the final game at origins showed me the passage just as I had placed my orbital gun and it actually says so.
Blessed by the white sphere
Offline
User avatar

SwordOfJustice

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2582
  • Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostSun Jun 25, 2017 5:31 am

A case for calling the TO over to make a ruling. I think you'll find that the majority of players understand the rules to be that you hold it even on turns where you don't score for it. The other reading is quite counter intuitive.
We have evolved beyond mere flesh and bone. We are the Post Human Republic.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBC9LIUpKeo
Offline
User avatar

LiamK

  • Posts: 389
  • Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostThu Jun 29, 2017 1:52 pm

Although technically in the rules it does say you can only hold on a scoring turn, it is also assumed that you hold on other turns too (it is just that you don't score for those turns).

So for the purposes of the weapons you can fire them each turn so long as you have more tokens in the sector than your opponent.
Offline
User avatar

J.D. Welch

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 5215
  • Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:16 am
  • Location: Gilbert, AZ, USA

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostFri Jun 30, 2017 2:13 am

Hawk Liam wrote:Although technically in the rules it does say you can only hold on a scoring turn, it is also assumed that you hold on other turns too (it is just that you don't score for those turns).

So for the purposes of the weapons you can fire them each turn so long as you have more tokens in the sector than your opponent.

+1

Thank you, Liam.

When in doubt, use common sense, folks, not rules legalese... ;)
I love my job (well, I love having a job), but a bad day of gaming beats a good day of work every time!

http://www.theroadtovalhalla.blogspot.com
Offline
User avatar

SwordOfJustice

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 2582
  • Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Defence turrets take 2

PostMon Jul 03, 2017 12:18 pm

Hear hear! (imagine a picture of Winston Churchill saying it in UK parliament) :D
We have evolved beyond mere flesh and bone. We are the Post Human Republic.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBC9LIUpKeo
Next

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests