
Hi guys,
Super new and still getting my head around things, but have a question I wanted to put up for confirmation.
Reading through the rules for weapon systems, it looks like you can target the different weapons on a single ship at different enemies, but each weapon must target a single enemy ship. So, for example, a PHR Theseus can target up to two enemy Frigates with it's two separate Light Calibre Batteries and two enemy Cruisers with it's two Medium Calibre Batteries ('though it can also hit those same two Frigates with the Mediums as well).
But with, for example, an Ajax with two Light Calibre Broadsides these must each target only one enemy ship. So the Ajax can target a maximum of three enemy targets (one on each side and one in the front narrow with it's Burnthrough) and could not split those Broadsides up to hit two enemy Frigates on one side of the ship with 6 dice each?
Now, with Groups this seems to become more complex. From what I'm reading it looks like you CAN combined the fire of ships in a Group to hit a single target but you aren't required to? So if I have a pair of Ajax together in a Group then I CAN fire their Light Calibre Broadsides at two different Frigates, OR I could fire them both together at a single target.
Is this all correct?
Sorry, I'm sure I'll have more questions in the future but this is the thing which is making me hang right now.
Super new and still getting my head around things, but have a question I wanted to put up for confirmation.
Reading through the rules for weapon systems, it looks like you can target the different weapons on a single ship at different enemies, but each weapon must target a single enemy ship. So, for example, a PHR Theseus can target up to two enemy Frigates with it's two separate Light Calibre Batteries and two enemy Cruisers with it's two Medium Calibre Batteries ('though it can also hit those same two Frigates with the Mediums as well).
But with, for example, an Ajax with two Light Calibre Broadsides these must each target only one enemy ship. So the Ajax can target a maximum of three enemy targets (one on each side and one in the front narrow with it's Burnthrough) and could not split those Broadsides up to hit two enemy Frigates on one side of the ship with 6 dice each?
Now, with Groups this seems to become more complex. From what I'm reading it looks like you CAN combined the fire of ships in a Group to hit a single target but you aren't required to? So if I have a pair of Ajax together in a Group then I CAN fire their Light Calibre Broadsides at two different Frigates, OR I could fire them both together at a single target.
Is this all correct?
Sorry, I'm sure I'll have more questions in the future but this is the thing which is making me hang right now.
Why would we waste words on Prey?