It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:53 am


Escort Fighters?

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Attackmack

  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:01 pm

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 8:38 am

Eddieddi wrote:
Attackmack wrote:
BlackLegion wrote:It's "remove excess dice and tokens" at the end of the Roundup Phase. Which just means you should remove dice and tokens which don't have relevance anymore. Unused Fighter still remain where they belong to.


So...when exactly is unused fighters removed?



That honestly depends, In the rule book it states once that you remove them at 'remove excess dice and tokens' another area states 'fighters are only removed when used for PD or countered by enemy fighters' We've played it both ways and honestly playing either way is fine, it just requires a change in strategy.


I think the rules are very clear that fighters are removed during the roundup phase, there is nothing indicating they would remain.
But the question is WHEN in the roundup phase are they removed? At the beginning of the roundup or during the "remove excess tokens" step?

This is important since if they are removed at the beginning they have no effect during the "resolve launch assets".
Then again, if they are removed at the end of the phase it means in principle that a carrier can have twice its launch capacity in "the air" at once, which might be RAW but i dont think its intended.

I cant find anywhere where this is confirmed in the rules.
The rules for fighters on p62 simply says "Any fighters that havent been used by the time the next Roundup phase arrives will be removed even though they havent taken effect". Which sounds as if they are removed at the beginning of the roundup even though the roundup has an entire phase dedicated to removing unused and excess tokens.
Offline
User avatar

BlackLegion

  • Posts: 753
  • Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 10:33 pm
  • Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 10:17 am

You remove Fighter after they are used OR if not used at the beginning of next turns Roundup Phase. At no time you have more Launch Assets on the table as you have launch capacity.

Again: "remove any excess dice and tokens" just means that you should tidy up the gaming surface. Fighters who still are not used are not "excess tokens" they are needed tokens.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 10:30 am

I dont understand?

All fighter tokens which are not used, and the carrier of them is lets say destroyed, are removed at the beginning of roundup.



All fighter tokens which are not used, get a redeploy as soon as their Carrier activates.



That's all, since the Effect of Launch Assets (all of them) are triggered at the end of the deploy of all Assets i dont see any issues here.

do i miss something?

Refere to RuleBook at page 60

6) Resolve Launch Asset effects
Once all the Groups containing Launch Assets have
deployed their assets, you must then resolve their effects.
Firstly, p lace any ground tokens from Dropships and Bulk
Landers. Next, starting wit h the player with the Initiat ive,
se lect 1 enemy ship to resolve the effects of any tokens
against it. Then the player w ith the next highest Initiative
se lects 1 enemy ship to resolve and so on until all the of
the launch asset tokens have been resolved .
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

BlackLegion

  • Posts: 753
  • Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 10:33 pm
  • Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 10:34 am

Fighters don't get a redeploy. They are removed at the beginning of the next Roundup Phase. Then you can deploy them anew (or start bombers instead).
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 10:52 am

BlackLegion wrote:Fighters don't get a redeploy. They are removed at the beginning of the next Roundup Phase. Then you can deploy them anew (or start bombers instead).



yeah correct, it was just my way of description. i just want to say there is no difference because all launch assets effect after deploy is finished.
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline

Attackmack

  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:01 pm

Re: Escort Fighters?

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 11:05 am

BlackLegion wrote:You remove Fighter after they are used OR if not used at the beginning of next turns Roundup Phase. At no time you have more Launch Assets on the table as you have launch capacity.

Again: "remove any excess dice and tokens" just means that you should tidy up the gaming surface. Fighters who still are not used are not "excess tokens" they are needed tokens.


Ok got ya, this is how i expected it to work but couldnt find it clear in the rulebook.
Previous

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest