It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:40 am


Launch Assets?

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Petrov

  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:58 pm

Launch Assets?

PostThu Feb 09, 2017 9:27 pm

Sorry if this was gone over before.
Lets say my PHR carrier has launch assets rating of 4
Does that mean I can send 4 bombers out every turn?
Lets say I pooped out 4 bombers at twice their thrust range and they will get there next turn.
Next turn can I poop out 4 more bombers or fighters?
Offline
User avatar

BlackLegion

  • Posts: 747
  • Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 10:33 pm
  • Location: Leipzig, Germany

Re: Launch Assets?

PostThu Feb 09, 2017 11:19 pm

Yes to everything.
Offline

EpicBattleBaggz

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:13 am

Re: Launch Assets?

PostSun Feb 26, 2017 1:37 am

BlackLegion wrote:Yes to everything.


Just to clarify what Petrov didn't say....taking his bomber instance, can you also launch fighters that turn as well?
Offline
User avatar

Cry of the Wind

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1029
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:27 pm
  • Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: Launch Assets?

PostSun Feb 26, 2017 2:22 am

You can launch a number of tokens up to your launch value. So any combo of fighters and bombers but only 4 tokens worth of them total.

Also remember that you will never have more tokens in play than your launch value. When launching at x2 thrust they will resolve before the next launching phase. They will resolve when their target finishes its activation (so no you cannot have 8 bombers from one carrier attack a target at the same time).
Offline

Mr_M

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 3:57 pm

Re: Launch Assets?

PostThu Jun 01, 2017 9:02 pm

Cry of the Wind wrote:Also remember that you will never have more tokens in play than your launch value. When launching at x2 thrust they will resolve before the next launching phase. They will resolve when their target finishes its activation (so no you cannot have 8 bombers from one carrier attack a target at the same time).


Very interested to read this - we've been playing a different way.... (we're probably wrong :D )

The roundup phase for Launch Assets is clearly launch (steps 2-5) then resolve effect (step 6) - pg 59/60. On the same page it defines Launch as the number of tokens a carrier can launch 'per turn'. Combining these we've been taking this to read that the carrier can potentially have twice as many tokens in play as it's launch value if it launched bombers at 2x thrust in the preceding turn.

Have we missed something in the main rule book or the FAQ that clearly states the limitation of never having more tokens in play than your total launch value?
Offline

Kelbesq

  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:18 pm

Re: Launch Assets?

PostThu Jun 01, 2017 9:11 pm

Bombers launched at 2x thrust the previous turn should have already resolved by the Launch phase of the current turn. You resolve 2x thrust bombers at the end of the targets activation on the turn after they were launched. Likewise, unused fighters are returned just before you launch new assets.


If I launch bombers against a frigate during the launch phase of turn 2, the bombers resolve at the end of that frigate's activation on turn 3. This is before the Launch Assets phase of turn 3.
Offline

Mr_M

  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 3:57 pm

Re: Launch Assets?

PostThu Jun 01, 2017 9:20 pm

Kelbesq wrote:Bombers launched at 2x thrust the previous turn should have already resolved by the Launch phase of the current turn. You resolve 2x thrust bombers at the end of the targets activation on the turn after they were launched. Likewise, unused fighters are returned just before you launch new assets.


Ah - that's what we missed - thank-you :)

We were waiting to the roundup phase to resolve bombers launched at 2x thrust. Saves on the number of launch asset models required if nothing else :D
Offline
User avatar

Bistromatic

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:30 am
  • Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Launch Assets?

PostFri Jun 02, 2017 9:19 am

Quick semi-related question: Can you intentionally delay Bombers as if they are at double thrust range?

When it came up the intention was for bomber from two different carriers, one at short range and one at long range, to link up and form a single wave.

As far as i can tell there is no choice in launch asset timing but i wanted to confirm. This is one of the rare cases where i feel this might warrant a look from a background perspective. :P
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: Launch Assets?

PostFri Jun 02, 2017 10:12 am

Bistromatic wrote:Quick semi-related question: Can you intentionally delay Bombers as if they are at double thrust range?

When it came up the intention was for bomber from two different carriers, one at short range and one at long range, to link up and form a single wave.

As far as i can tell there is no choice in launch asset timing but i wanted to confirm. This is one of the rare cases where i feel this might warrant a look from a background perspective. :P


interesting question!

But RAW i would suggest its separated so delayed bombers have a second run!

i always play it that way!

RB Page 62
BOMBER WINGS
When Bombers from multiple sources attack the same
target they coordinate their run to overwhelm its Point
Defence. Roll all of the Bomber's attacks together when
they take effect
and treat it as a single attack versus
the target's Point Defence so the defender only rolls for
PD once for the ship instead of against each token's
attack separately.
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Bistromatic

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:30 am
  • Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Launch Assets?

PostFri Jun 02, 2017 12:15 pm

Yeah, i do agree with you that it is two separate attacks under the current rules. It can just lead the the somewhat weird situation of a group of escort carriers not being able to combine their bombers against the same target. Admittedly it's a bit of an edge case so i'm not sure if it warrants any change.
Next

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron