It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:41 am


DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostTue Mar 07, 2017 9:18 am

according to this, it is unclear too some of you. Well i dont see anything which needs to be cleared, but lets see!

Lordprinceps wrote:
dread2005 wrote:

well thats easy its any of the damage!

beside its D3+1 attack, so the Minos Missiles can do 4 attacks at 2 damage, at best.

rulebokk page 69

Crippling
Sitting at th e very peak of military technology are weapons
of such power that they can inflict Crippling Damage with
a sing le hit.
Weapon systems with the Crippling characteristic inflict
crippling damage when they score one or more critical hits
in addition to any normal Hull Damage. Crippling damage
is incurred regardless of the number of Hull points actually
inflicted providing one or more Hull damage is suffered by
the target
. If a target ship is reduced to 50% hull or below
by the attack it will need to make two Crippling Damage
rolls and apply both of them.


That requires the proceeding sentence to fully understand the rule, though; I conclude the following:

"Weapon systems with the Crippling characteristic inflict
crippling damage when they score one or more critical hits
in addition to any normal Hull Damage."
Crippling damage will be incurred if ANY critical hits occur, even (if in the case of the minos) the critical damage is somehow prevented.

"Crippling damage
is incurred regardless of the number of Hull points actually
inflicted providing one or more Hull damage is suffered by
the target"
This crippling damage is ONLY incurred, however, if at least ONE point of hull damage is suffered by the target, even if all critical damage was prevented.

As an example, let us pretend a Minos uses its Neutron Missiles against a Beijing.

It rolls 2 for its number of attacks, so its gets 3 attacks in total.
For it's to-hit rolls, it rolls 1, 2, and 6; a miss, a hit, and a critical hit.

The Beijing rolls its PD, and manages to make 5 successes. It assigns 4 of these to negate all of the critical damage from the critical hit, along with the remaining success to negate one of the non-critical damage from the non-critical hit.

The Beijing rolls a 2 on its armor save against the last remaining point of damage, and as such suffers 1 point of hull damage.

Because a critical hit was incurred against the Beijing (first statement) and at least one point of hull damage was suffered by the attack (second statement), the Beijing must now roll on the crippling damage table despite never having taking critical damage from a critical hit.
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostTue Mar 07, 2017 9:20 am

so the sentenc of the sepcial rule, says that its crippilng effect triggers regardless of how much damage is inflicted, only i needs to be at leats 1+ Damage inflicted at the target!

no some say it needs to be a crit, but well i dont read it in the rule and:

after you go on a crit damage is equal to a normal damage, because all of them are only "damage" not more or less!

there is no such thing like a crit damage.... so for me its RAW any damage.

thoughts
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

Cry of the Wind

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 1034
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:27 pm
  • Location: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostTue Mar 07, 2017 5:02 pm

Just reread both sections on crippling and damage rolling. I think the rule should mean you need to actually inflict critical hit damage but it is not worded that way.

I agree that RAW you only need to roll a critical hit with at least one attack die and the target must suffer at least one hull point of damage. If the critical hit inflicts that damage point or not it doesn't matter.
Offline

Slade

  • Posts: 450
  • Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:09 pm

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 12:01 am

Dread has it right. Crippling weapons just have to do a point of damage. Doesn't mater if it's a "crit" or not.
Offline
User avatar

Lordprinceps

  • Posts: 289
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:25 pm
  • Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 1:21 am

Slade wrote:Dread has it right. Crippling weapons just have to do a point of damage. Doesn't mater if it's a "crit" or not.

RAW, there must also be a critical hit. The damage need not come from the critical hit (in the case of passive saves or PD), but there must be a critical hit against the target AND at least one point of hull damage.
Offline

Slade

  • Posts: 450
  • Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:09 pm

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 1:49 am

I bloody see why it's written like that now. Shaltari shields! If I get a hit and crit (DMC here again), they save vs the crit, but not the hit would crippling still work?
Offline
User avatar

Lordprinceps

  • Posts: 289
  • Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2016 6:25 pm
  • Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: DFC: Crippling Special Rule (crit Damage)

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 2:45 am

Slade wrote:I bloody see why it's written like that now. Shaltari shields! If I get a hit and crit (DMC here again), they save vs the crit, but not the hit would crippling still work?

RAW, I would say yes. It doesn't matter if the damage is from a critical or regular hit, but there must be at least one critical hit against the target, regardless of if it does damage.

I feel like this is to speed up gameplay, so that armor/passive saves don't need to differentiate between damage caused by critical and normal hits.

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests