It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:09 pm


New admiral

Stuck on a rules interpretation, get it answered here!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

bob

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:37 pm

New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 1:09 pm

Hi guys,
just wanted to check something. The new admiral gets upgraded for free on A H or S. My question is does this include 1st level. For example, an admiral on a battleship would be level 2 for free or would it be 20 points for level 3?

thanks,
bob
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 1:13 pm

bob wrote:Hi guys,
just wanted to check something. The new admiral gets upgraded for free on A H or S. My question is does this include 1st level. For example, an admiral on a battleship would be level 2 for free or would it be 20 points for level 3?

thanks,
bob


hm a AV 1 is not a Admiral, its general Fleet has AV 1 if no Admiral is taken

after this if you buy a AV 2 for 20 Points you get a AV 4 (+ 2 lvl)
if you buy a AV 4 for 80 points you get a AV 6 highest Commander in Game

but you cant do a AV 1 for free to a AV 3, because AV 1 is not a Commander its a general minimum a Fleet has if there is no Commander at all!
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline

bob

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 1:48 pm

dread2005 wrote:
bob wrote:Hi guys,
just wanted to check something. The new admiral gets upgraded for free on A H or S. My question is does this include 1st level. For example, an admiral on a battleship would be level 2 for free or would it be 20 points for level 3?

thanks,
bob


hm a AV 1 is not a Admiral, its general Fleet has AV 1 if no Admiral is taken

after this if you buy a AV 2 for 20 Points you get a AV 4 (+ 2 lvl)
if you buy a AV 4 for 80 points you get a AV 6 highest Commander in Game

but you cant do a AV 1 for free to a AV 3, because AV 1 is not a Commander its a general minimum a Fleet has if there is no Commander at all!


yeah this is what I though in the wording. however, can you tell me where it says no admiral is AV1. Pages 71 and 72 only mention if an admiral dies you can draw 1 card but nothing about an AV for no admiral.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 1:56 pm

Well later in the book at the factions units! Where the assets & admirals ar listed you can buy 2 - 6 AV admiral, not AV 1.

Since AV 1 only says you can have 1 Card it fits the description of Page 71/72!
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline

bob

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:00 pm

dread2005 wrote:Well later in the book at the factions units! Where the assets & admirals ar listed you can buy 2 - 6 AV admiral, not AV 1.

Since AV 1 only says you can have 1 Card it fits the description of Page 71/72!


err the thing on page 71/72 literally says only if the admiral is killed, if u get an AV without an admiral this needs clarification.
Offline

bob

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:10 pm

It also says the AV only applies if your admiral is on the table. So how would an admiral coming on later in the game work? You get half his AV not as written? This would be very odd so I don't think you would get an AV without an admiral.
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:13 pm

bob wrote:It also says the AV only applies if your admiral is on the table. So how would an admiral coming on later in the game work? You get half his AV not as written? This would be very odd so I don't think you would get an AV without an admiral.



this is of Dropzone Commander, which i play as well i think its 100% RAI in Dropfleet
only difference, you can not field more than 1 commander in DFC

lf the most senior Commander present is killed, the
player must immediately discard card/s of their choice
down to a number equal to the GV of the new most
senior Commander and so on. As such, it's often a
good idea to have several Commanders to provide a
chain of command/ level of redundancy should any be
killed. lf there are no Commanders present, the player
may use a CV of 1, and as such may hold 1 card.
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline
User avatar

dread2005

Hawk Talon

  • Posts: 730
  • Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:54 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:15 pm

just exchange or extend "kill" with "not present", and always use AV 1 if there is no commander on Table! :D
Quote: " nothing is ever easy " by zedicus zul zorrander

Dropfleet ADMIRAL may Mankind conquer the universe
UCM ~2500 Points, PHR ~2000 Points

Dropzone GENERAL revenge of Mankind
PHR 2000 Points, UCM 3500 Points
Offline

bob

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:23 pm

dread2005 wrote:just exchange or extend "kill" with "not present", and always use AV 1 if there is no commander on Table! :D


well maybe but as written right now I can't tell my group to ignore what it says in the rule book, needs an FAQ
Offline

Kemble

  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:06 am

Re: New admiral

PostWed May 17, 2017 2:39 pm

I agree with bob that the dropfleet rule dose not give you AV1 for free until a paid admiral dies. (p72)
It also dosnt tell you to draw 1 command card at the start of any turn before the admiral arrives. (drawing cards is also p72)

As such I'd rule that you are AV0 until a paid admiral arrives.
I have to admit tho, my group has been playing it as if you have AV1 just because of dropzone.

I assume it is deliberately different to dropzone. If not then it needs an FAQ
Next

Return to Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests