It is currently Fri Jul 28, 2017 12:43 am

Gadget's version of UCM alpine scheme

Threads for all your painting and modelling blogs as well as hobby tutorials
  • Author

InspGadgt

Gadget's version of UCM alpine scheme

PostFri Feb 26, 2016 1:24 am

Hi all,

Now that I started painting my miniatures I figured it was more proper to post here instead of the thread where I was asking colors questions. It has been quite some time since I last painted miniatures and I didn't know a lot of the techniques I've read about back then either. So I decided I wanted to do a scheme I could airbrush which I have more experience with. Looking through the fluff the alpine scheme looked nice so I decided to give it a try. Initially I set about to copy the book art as close as possible, but after some paint choices that weren't quite right the scheme started to migrate into something more unique that I like very much. One idea I had was to use a grey and a white instead of just a white to give it some more color. So I went and picked up a bunch of paints to get started. I ended up with panzer olive, light grey, and dead white as the main colors. I sprayed a test pattern on a piece of paper and pleased with the results I set about to get started on my army. I sprayed my Albatross and liked the results so I did my Bear APCs next and clear coated them all to prepare for a black wash to bring out the panel lines.

The black wash came out a bit too dark at first as you can see on one of the Bear APCs. And it darkened the rest of the paint as well...but I find that I like this look better. Also the wash seemed to smooth out the color transitions nicely.

Got started on the rest of the army:

So that's how far along I've come. I still have 2 Archangels, 4 Ravens, 2 Longbows, 7 Condors, 2 Scimitars, and 2 Ferrums to airbrush and all the little details to paint on.

Ravager

Re: Gadget's version of UCM alpine scheme

PostFri Feb 26, 2016 2:31 am

Looking good so far.