It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:50 am

UCM vs Scourge starter set balance?

Discuss tactics and general army concepts not specific to a faction
  • Author

Caamora

UCM vs Scourge starter set balance?

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 3:46 am

Sooo.. I am new to the whole tabletop thing. I have done plenty of hex and counter war gaming but the rulers are throwing me a bit. The real question is that I play the UCM and I feel at a loss against the Scourge with the starter units.. feel out maneuvered.. slow.. can't really threaten larger buildings and everything that shoots at me doesn't have to move and gets the skimmer bonus.. grrrr.

So I guess I am looking for a general strategy to feel competitive against the Scourge starter. We will be expanding but I feel very frustrated at the moment. My opponent has more experience than me with tabletop games so not sure if it is just a learning curve for me.

He says I need fire lanes with UCM.. I see that but then he just hides behind buildings.. My transports are not fast enough to get to objectives before he does it feels.. and I cannot do enough damage to a building to scare him out of it while his tanks rack up with Demolisher on my buildings.

Granted we have only played the beginner scenario... so that may be a problem as well but I am just looking for some general advice on UCM tactics given just the starter set.

Thanks for listening to me gripe.. lol

SwordOfJustice

Hawk Talon

Re: UCM vs Scourge starter set balance?

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 5:30 am

Rest assured that UCM can win.

Sabres vs Hunters
The first item I'll point out is the kill chances of Sabres and Hunters.
- Hunter hits a Sabre on a 2+ then E11 vs A10 kills on a 4+.
- Sabre hits a deployed Hunter (that can move 6+" to get skimmer bonus) on a 4+, then E10 vs A8 kills on a 3+.